Where Are You Reading 2013

2013I am joining one challenge this year… well sort of. I wasn’t going to join any and then I saw Sheila’s where are you reading challenge map idea and I LOVED it. But I plan to tweak it just a bit for my personal needs. Here are my 2013 Where Are You Reading goals:

I am challenging myself to read 50 books this year.

I will keep track of them on the Google map (see tab above), pinning the location(s) of the main setting(s).

Many of the books I read have multiple story lines, and very often, multiple settings. One I just finished, Every Secret Thing, by Susana Kearsley, had four. For that one, I tried to pick the two main locations. Most of the books I read are historical fiction, and of those, most tend to take place in Europe. I am sure that by the end of the year, the England on my Google Map will have sunk from so many pins. But, because I am trying to focus on reading exactly what I want to read this year, I am not trying to stay in the fifty states. However, it will be interesting to see at the end of the year just how many I end up visiting.

Even though it is only three weeks into January, I have enjoyed this challenge. Right now I am reading Firefly Beach, by Meira Pantermann, and it is set in a fictitious town in Maine. I am trying to figure out where best to pin it, so I have found myself paying more attention to the geographical clues that the author has included. Of course she probably put a note in the end about the real town that she based her story on…. LOL!

Categories: Loose Thoughts | Tags:

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Where Are You Reading 2013

  1. Awesome! So glad you are joining in. Have fun 🙂

  2. Our firm, Bostick Communications, distributes press releases via e-mail for our clients who are authors.  These releases make contacts, such as yourself, aware of new books that are available for review.
     
    We would like to add you to that database to receive releases from our clients. 
     
    You will receive one press release per day on the average. You have the opportunity to specify certain genres that you are interested in to reduce the number of releases you receive, if you wish.
     
    There is no obligation on your part and you may unsubscribe at any time.
     
    Thank you for your time to consider our service.
     
    Best,
    Ken Eason
    Bostick Communications

    http://www.bostickcommunications.com

    bostickops@gmail.com

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

